Underage Possession of Alcohol in Orlando

underage drinking

Alcohol is the forbidden fruit for teenagers as many can’t come to grips with the fact that they can fight for their country, vote, purchase tobacco, and otherwise be legally recognized as an adult but cannot purchase alcohol. This often pushes many underage individuals to go to extreme lengths to purchase alcohol. For some, this means purchasing false identification while others chose to simply ask an older friend to buy it for them. No matter the route you take to obtain it, you can face severe criminal charges if law enforcement catches you in illegal possession of alcohol.

Dampen the chances of an unfortunate encounter with the law having a permanent effect on your criminal record by sourcing legal help from a seasoned criminal defense lawyer. The Orlando underage alcohol possession defense lawyers at The Umansky Law Firm have the legal experience needed to help mitigate your charges. The State will often aggressively pursue a criminal conviction to make an example out of your mishap and ensure that you don’t re-offend. However, our team can suggest conviction alternatives that focus more on rehabilitation and even push to have the charges dropped altogether.

Discover the full scope of criminal defense options available in your case by contacting us today to speak with a seasoned attorney.

Florida Penalties for Underage Possession of Alcohol

The legal drinking age in Florida is 21. This means that anyone under the age of 21 cannot legally consume or possess alcoholic beverages. Any minor caught in possession of alcohol is guilty of a second-degree misdemeanor punishable by:

  • Up to 60 days in jail
  • Up to six months of probation
  • Up to $500 in fines

These penalties only apply to first-time offenders. Committing a subsequent offense of underage alcohol possession is a first-degree misdemeanor punishable by:

  • Up to 1 year in jail
  • Up to 12 months probation
  • Up to $1,000 in fines

Automatic driver’s license suspension is also required upon a conviction for underage possession of alcohol. First-time offenders will lose their license for six to twelve months while repeat offenders will have their license revoked for at least two years.

Defenses to Underage Possession of Alcohol Charges

Many people often falsely assume that because they’re charged with a crime they will be convicted, when the opposite is true. You are innocent until proven guilty and have the right to defend yourself against the charges you face. While some choose to represent themselves or invite the services of a public defender, hiring private legal counsel is the most effective way to argue a case in criminal court.

Our team of criminal defense lawyers can analyze the facts of your case and bring forth the most viable defenses to the charges you face. Some of the most common defenses to underage possession of alcohol include:

  • Entrapment
  • Lack of knowledge
  • Non-alcoholic beverage
  • Holding the drink for someone else
  • Inability to prove control over the beverage
  • Failure to read Miranda rights
  • Lack of proof of knowledge

Our role as your criminal defense lawyers is to dispel the claims of the prosecution to weaken their case and push to have the charges dropped altogether. Speak with an attorney today to learn more about how we can help you.

Orlando Underage Alcohol Possession Defense Lawyers

The Orlando underage alcohol possession defense lawyers at The Umansky Law Firm have experience as former state and local prosecutors which we can use to your benefit. As zealous advocates of the accused, we put our more than 100 years of combined experience to work to help clear your name of all charges.

Whether this is your first run-in with the law or you’re a repeat offender, you have rights that need protecting. Our team of Board Certified Criminal Trial Defense lawyers is here to ensure that they will be. Contact us today for a free case evaluation.

Get In Touch With Us Today

    Underage Possession of Alcohol in Orlando