Orlando Underage DUI Lawyer

teens with alcohol

Driving under the influence of alcohol is illegal in all American states due to the effects alcohol has on one’s cognitive abilities. The legal drinking age is state-mandated, but all states — including Florida — strictly enforce the requirement of being at least 21-years-old before one can legally consume alcohol. No matter what age, however, driving under the influence is illegal and punishable by license suspension and possible jail time. If you or someone you know has been charged with an underage DUI, be sure to seek out immediate legal representation.

The Orlando underage DUI lawyers at The Umansky Law Firm are fully aware of what’s at stake if you were to be convicted. Our team of seasoned juvenile defense attorneys has experience as prosecutors at the state and local level. We can use our insight on how the prosecution will approach the case to best craft your defense and engage in negotiation early on. Reach out to us today to discuss your legal options

Florida Underage DUI Laws

Your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level is what law enforcement uses to decide whether or not you are driving over the legal limit. For drinkers of the legal age, any recorded BAC level over 0.08% is illegal and warrants a DUI arrest. The limit for those under 21, however, is 0.02%, which virtually disallows an underage individual from having even one drink and legally operating a vehicle. This noticeably low legal limit is a result of Florida’s Zero Tolerance policy.

Florida also has mandatory use/lose laws in place for underage drinkers which require the implementation of driving restrictions when an individual under the age of 21 possesses, consumes, or attempts to purchase alcohol.

Penalties for Under 21 DUI in Orlando

In an effort to discourage underage drinking, Florida has one of the most severe penalty structures for under-21 DUIs. The specific penalties vary depending on the circumstances of the incident and intensify depending on whether the individual is a first-time or repeat offender. All individuals arrested and charged with an underage DUI in Florida may be subjected to the following:


  • 0.02% BAC or Higher: 6-month license suspension for a first offense or 1-year license suspension for a repeat offender
  • 0.08% BAC or Higher: Same charges as an over 21 first-offender ($500-$1000 in fines,  license suspension for 180 days to 1 year, 50 hours of community service, and up to 6 months in jail)
  • Refuse Blood or Breath Test: 1-year license suspension for first test denial and 18-month suspension for the second refusal


  • 0.02% BAC or Higher: 6-month license suspension for a first offense, and mandatory completion of an alcohol education program or evaluation at an addiction facility

Call an Orlando Underage DUI Defense Attorney

Getting an underage DUI can be one of the most damaging things to occur. If you are applying for jobs, you’ll have to inform your potential employer of your DUI conviction which may result in your inability to secure employment. If you’re a college student or applying for colleges, the conviction may result in you losing scholarships and being unable to enroll in the university of your choice. Best protect yourself and your future by acquiring a knowledgeable Orlando underage DUI defense attorney.

The under-21 DUI lawyers at The Umansky Law Firm can provide the legal attention your case deserves. With over 100 years of combined legal experience, our team has extensive legal knowledge regarding DUI cases and can implement it to your benefit. Everyone deserves a second chance. Get yours by calling us today for a free case evaluation.

Get In Touch With Us Today

    Orlando Underage DUI Lawyer