Orlando Manslaughter Defense Lawyers
We understand the trauma you are going through. You have been accused of killing someone and face life-altering criminal charges. We want to help you in this fight for your life.
At The Umansky Law Firm, in Orlando, our manslaughter defense attorneys are former prosecutors with more than 60 years of combined experience. To speak with us in a free case review, please call our office.
Who Can Be Charged With Manslaughter in Florida?
Put simply, you can be charged with manslaughter, voluntary or involuntary, if you cause or help cause someone else’s death through an intentional act or negligence. Under Florida law, manslaughter is broken into multiple categories, including:
- Killing a human being through an intentional action that is not justified under the law but does not constitute homicide/murder. This is a felony in the second degree.
- Causing an elderly person or disabled adult’s death through culpable negligence. This is a felony in the first degree.
- Causing the death of a child through culpable negligence. This is called aggravated manslaughter of a child and is a felony in the first degree.
- Causing the death of an officer, firefighter, paramedic or emergency medical technician through culpable negligence. This is a felony in the first degree.
- Unnecessarily killing another person while preventing a felony. This is a felony in the second degree.
- Assisting another person in committing suicide. This is a felony in the second degree. In order to show that you have acted with culpable negligence, the state must prove that you acted with reckless disregard for human life or were indifferent to the consequences of your actions.
What Florida Penalties Can You Face for Manslaughter?
Manslaughter is a second-degree flony. Florida law requires at least nine and a quarter years in prison for manslaughter. This means that, if convicted, you will go to prison for nine years and could face up to 15 years and $15,000 in fines. Things get even more severe if you are convicted of manslaughter with a weapon or firearm. This is a first-degree felony that could land you in prison for up to 30 years.
How We Can Help You Defend Against Florida Manslaughter Charges.
There are many defenses to manslaughter, including:
- You were not responsible for the death.
- You killed another person, but it was by accident and without intent and you were using a reasonable level of caution.
- You killed another person in the heat of passion.
- You were acting in self-defense.
Contact an Orlando Manslaughter Defense Lawyer
You deserve to be represented well by a criminal defense attorney you can trust. Protect your future, contact us online or call our office now to start your defense.