Palm Bay DUI Lawyer

Driving under the influence of alcohol is a serious offense that happens all too often. Whether you were out partying or simply coming from watching an afternoon football game, if a law enforcement officer suspects you of drunk driving, they can pull you over and take the necessary course of action.

Many individuals believe that acquiring a defense attorney to represent them in court is unnecessary, as they claim to be fully aware of what occurred and how to proclaim their innocence. Although done with good intentions, this can be most damaging to your DUI case. You’ll ultimately find yourself attempting to digest all DUI laws, rules, and regulations along with appropriate court procedures in a matter of days; information that experienced attorneys have been studying for decades. Your best bet at ensuring adequate legal representation is to secure the services of a Palm Bay DUI lawyer who can make you aware of your legal options.

What is a DUI in Palm Bay?

Due to the potentially fatal nature of drinking and driving, Florida has one of the strictest penalty structures for drunk driving, as they intensify with every offense. You can get charged for a DUI in Florida if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level exceeds:

  • 0.08% and you’re 21 years or older
  • 0.04% and you’re 21 years or older and operating a commercial vehicle
  • 0.02% and you’re under 21 years old

Florida has a Zero Tolerance law in place for those under the age of 21. The law permits the automatic suspension of drivers whose BAC level exceeds the legal limit of 0.02% for six months. The drastically low permissible BAC level for underage drinkers disallows them from even having one drink and driving. Individuals of the legal age, however, may be able to have higher BAC levels but the penalties for a DUI are just as intense.

What Consequences do I Face as a First Offender?

First-time offenders face the lightest of all DUI penalties, but they are severe enough to discourage an individual from becoming a repeat offender. The law separates them into two categories:

Administrative Penalties

  • Suspension or revocation of license for 180 days to 1 year
  • DUI school (if required) and $15 fee
  • $130 administrative fee
  • $45 license reinstatement fee for suspension
  • $75 license reinstatement fee for revocation
  • Ignition Interlock Device (if granted a restricted license) and $12 fee

Criminal Penalties

  • Up to 6 months jail time
  • A minimum of 50 community service hours
  • No more than 1 year of probation
  • Fines between $500 and $2,000 dependent on blood alcohol level (BAL)
  • 10 days of vehicle impoundment (begins after release from incarceration)

Discuss Your Case with a Palm Bay DUI Attorney

Although the penalties may be grave, a qualified Palm Bay DUI lawyer can help resolve your DUI case on the most favorable terms to you. William Umansky of The Umansky Law Firm has over 25 years of experience representing ailed drivers of Central Florida. During that time, he has put together a team of passionate attorneys who he is proud to say are better than him. His duty is to ensure that he links them with the right clients to get the best possible case results. Contact us today for a free consultation.

Get In Touch With Us Today

    Palm Bay DUI Lawyer