Places Where You Can and Cannot Conceal Carry in Florida

Places Where You Can and Cannot Conceal Carry in Florida

Places Where You Can and Cannot Conceal Carry in Florida

Florida enacted changes to its concealed carry laws in 2023 that now allow certain individuals to carry a concealed firearm without first obtaining a permit. Prior to the enactment of this law, gun owners were required to secure a license to carry a concealed weapon.

Concealed carry indicates you have the right to carry a legal firearm in public which is covered from view to nearby observers, like when it is worn under your clothing. While these changes to the state’s concealed carry law afford more expansive rights to legal gun owners, there is still an extensive list of places where you can and cannot conceal carry in Florida.

If you have been charged with illegal firearm possession or of violating Florida’s conceal carry laws, you need to speak with a trusted gun defense attorney as soon as possible. A lawyer can explain your legal rights and work diligently on your behalf to secure your future freedoms.

Understanding Florida’s Concealed Carry Laws

To qualify for permitless carry, you must meet the same eligibility criteria as if a permit were required. These means you must be a legal permanent resident or U.S. citizen, at least 21 years old, and not have a prior felony conviction.

Even though permitless carry is now allowed for Florida gun owners, this does not mean that you can carry a firearm just anywhere. There is a long list of locations where carrying a firearm is a criminal offense:

  • Schools
  • Courthouses
  • Detention centers and jails
  • Polling centers
  • Career centers
  • Federal facilities
  • Post offices
  • Airports

While permitless carry is legal, open carry remains illegal. This means that you cannot openly brandish a gun unless you are in a specific situation where this is allowed, such as for the purpose of hunting or target shooting.

The state’s permitless carry laws have also not changed the underlying requirements to purchase a firearm. The waiting period to purchase a firearm is still in effect, and licensed gun retailers must still complete the required background checks on buyers before delivering the firearm.

Consequences of Carrying Firearms in Prohibited Areas

If you are charged with violating Florida’s concealed carry laws, such as by carrying a firearm in a prohibited area, you need an attorney who can work towards the most favorable outcome possible from the earliest stages of your case. A criminal defense attorney could construct an aggressive defense that is tailored to the unique facts and circumstances of your charge.

Carrying a firearm in a prohibited area is generally a felony offense. For example, possessing or discharging a weapon on school property is a second-degree felony in Florida. A conviction can carry penalties including up to 15 years in jail, plus financial penalties ranging as high as $10,000.

Multiple defenses can be used to a firearms charge. The right strategy will depend on the chain of events that led to the charge. For instance, self-defense, lack of intent, or lack of knowledge could be potential defense options.

Call Us if You Run Into Trouble With Concealed Carry Laws in Florida

If you have been charged for possessing or discharging a weapon in a forbidden area, you could face significant jail time and fines if convicted. A criminal conviction could seriously impact your life both personally and professionally, which makes it essential to secure qualified legal representation.

The Umansky Law Firm could prepare a strong defense for your case, using our deep knowledge of the state’s firearm laws to negotiate plea deals, and in some cases even get charges reduced or dismissed. Contact our office today to receive your one-on-one legal consultation.

Places Where You Can and Cannot Conceal Carry in Florida
23392
3.215.186.30