Driving with a Suspended License in Osceola County

driving with a suspended license in central florida

So you’re on your way home from work, and out of nowhere, red and blue lights begin flashing in your rearview mirror. You calmly pull your vehicle to the side of the road and wait for the officer to approach your window. He informs you that your taillight is out and then continues to ask for your license and registration. Upon his return to your vehicle, you are instructed to step out of the car and are aggressively placed in handcuffs. Come to find out, your license is suspended, and you’re being brought in on criminal charges.

Situations like this often occur, resulting in individuals who may have been unaware of their license suspension facing criminal penalties. Whether you can identify with the aforementioned example or simply thought that making a quick trip to the grocery store on a suspended license would be harmless, it is essential that you seek legal representation.

The Osceola County traffic offense lawyers at The Umansky Law Firm have extensive experience representing those accused of a range of traffic offenses. We understand that many people have their driver’s license suspended unbeknownst to them and wind up as defendants in a courtroom. Our team is here to provide stalwart criminal representation for those facing criminal prosecution for driving with a suspended license in Osceola County.

Penalties for Driving With a Suspended License in Osceola County

Driving with a suspended license is illegal in Florida, and depending on the reason for your license suspension and number of violations, you’ll face either misdemeanor or felony charges. Osceola County residents can have their driver’s license suspended for anything from driving without insurance to refusing to take a breathalyzer test.

The offense of “Driving while license suspended, revoked, canceled, or disqualified” per Florida Statute § 322.34 is punishable by:

  • Up to 60 days in jail
  • Up to $500 in fines

Upon your second offense within five years, you can face up to one year in jail. Any subsequent offense will result in you being labeled a habitual offender which has penalties of:

  • Up to 5 years in prison
  • Up to $5,000 in fines

How to Legally Drive With a Suspended License

We understand that being able to drive is a necessity as a Central Florida resident. However, you do not need to violate the law to drive while your license is suspended. Florida allows those with their license suspended to apply for a Hardship License. With this driving permit, you’ll be able to legally drive on a restricted basis like to and from work. To acquire a conditional license, you’ll need to file a petition to the court requesting one. They will often require you to complete a driving course or some other mandatory program.

Another option is to pursue license reinstatement. This will require you to appear in front of a judge and plead your case. Judges will often rule in favor of those who prove to be rehabilitated or express that they will only use their license for things like employment opportunities or business operations.

Both of these options are pursuable after having your license suspended.  You can further improve your chances of regaining your driving privileges by securing the legal counsel of a seasoned traffic offense attorney.

Speak with an Osceola County Suspended Driving Attorney Today

The Osceola County suspended drivers license lawyers at The Umansky Law Firm have over 100 years of combined experience and have served as prosecutors on the state and local level. Depending on the specifics of your case, we can present defenses like you were unaware of your license suspension and any other applicable argument to protect your driving privileges. Contact us today for a free case evaluation.

Get In Touch With Us Today

    Driving with a Suspended License in Osceola County