Golf Cart DUI: What Vehicles Fall under Florida DUI Laws

Florida has over 1,300 golf courses, making it the state with the highest number of golf courses in the country. The state is also the host of the PGA tour, among other prestigious golf tournaments. Golf culture is woven into the heart of Florida, which is why it’s beneficial for Florida residents and visitors to understand the laws that govern golf cart drivers.

UnderFlorida statute 316.193, DUI charges apply to any vehicle, including golf carts. As defined by Florida law, a vehicle is a device used by any person or property that is a means of transportation. The notion of getting a DUI for driving a golf cart may seem slightly comical, but legally, a golf cart is defined as a vehicle. This means anyone who drives one under the influence may be charged with a DUI.

What Are the Penalties for Golf Cart DUI?

While one would think that a golf cart DUI won’t carry severe penalties, Florida law treats all DUIs the same. Florida takes DUIs seriously. Whether the driver is in a golf cart or a car, they will face charges if they are tested to have an BAC level of 0.08 or higher.

For a first offense DUI when there is no property damage, injuries, or other aggravating circumstances, the penalties are:

  • Up to nine months of jail
  • A one-year license suspension
  • A fine of up to $2,000

For a second offense DUI with no property damage, injuries, or other aggravating circumstances, the penalties are:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • A five-year driver’s license suspension
  • A fine of up to $4,000

For third convictions, DUI penalties include:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • A ten-year driver’s license suspension
  • A fine of up to $5,000

Florida has strict laws and penalties for individuals caught driving under the influence. An experienced Florida DUI attorney can help navigate the state’s law to help ensure your case is strong and your best interests are protected.

Can You Get a DUI on a Private Golf Course?

Florida DUI laws are broad, thereby applying to any vehicle and road—public or private. Private property is defined as residential properties and parks, apartment complexes, parking lots, gated communities, and of course, golf courses. Essentially, driving under the influence is illegal anywhere within state lines, including private and public golf courses.

This means that an officer can stop you for suspicion of driving under the influence whether you are on a private or public golf course. An officer is able to charge you with a DUI anywhere in the state as long as they have reason to believe you are under the influence while driving.

Work with Our Umansky Law Firm Florida DUI Lawyers

A golf cart is a vehicle, meaning that anyone who operates one must abide by traffic laws, including those applying to drinking and driving. If you’ve been arrested for a golf cart DUI in Florida, you could face serious penalties. Being convicted of a DUI may include facing jail time, fines, community service, and license suspension. A first and second DUI charge may be misdemeanors, but a third and subsequent DUIs are considered felonies.

At The Umansky Law Firm, we represent everyday people fighting for their rights, often against the state or much larger adversaries. Our DUI attorneys understand that facing DUI charges can be intensely emotional and complicated. That is why we provide trusted counsel, personalized strategies, and aggressive trial tactics that allow us to help make the ultimate difference in our clients’ lives. Call (407) 228-3838 or fill out our contact form to schedule a free consultation.