Don’t Underestimate The Driver’s License Laws in Florida

While it can be easy to broadly proclaim that you would never consider getting behind the wheel without a valid driver’s license under any circumstances, it’s important to remember that things aren’t always so cut and dried.

What if you forgot to renew your license last week and your child suddenly needs to be picked up? What if you friend offers you the chance to take a quick spin around the block on his new motorcycle even though you don’t have a license anymore?

While thinking about these types of scenarios might cause you to alter your position, it’s important to know that the state of Florida is not quite so thoughtful.

Indeed, the law clearly states that all drivers in Florida must be in possession of a valid license, meaning that their license must be active. Accordingly, a suspended, expired, cancelled or revoked license will never be sufficient in the eyes of the law. In fact, this is true even if the person had no knowledge that they were driving with a suspended license.

Furthermore, this means that the active license a person possesses must also pertain to the machinery under operation. Accordingly, in the above scenario, taking the motorcycle out without a license, even for a short ride, will also not be sufficient in the eyes of the law.

While it can, of course, be easy for people to dismiss the severity of any traffic violation, please consider that driving without a valid license is a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum fine of $500 and a maximum sentence of 60 days in jail. This is not to mention that it could go on a permanent criminal record and result in the loss of driving privileges.

At the Umansky Law Firm, our attorneys have more than 60 years of combined legal experience handling these and other traffic violations. To learn more about our ability to help you or your loved one, please visit our website.